Massachusetts Association of School Committees

Bill Fonseca Photo

Contact Information

Chair, Division V

Bill Fonseca

William Fonseca is in his eleventh year serving as a member of the East Longmeadow School Committee and has been a strong and passionate advocate for public education since first being elected in 2005. He has been actively involved with MASC since 2011 and is currently serving his first term on the Board of Directors as Chair of Division V (Connecticut Valley Division). Prior to that Mr. Fonseca served as Secretary-Treasurer and Vice-Chair of Division V. He also currently serves on the Legislative Committee and Resolutions Committee representing Division V for MASC.

Mr. Fonseca has attended numerous school leader conferences and professional development programs. He has also presented and moderated them as well. He has also served as East Longmeadow’s representative to the MASC Delegate Assembly. In addition, he has attended and participated in Day on the Hill, NSBA Annual Conferences and the NSBA Advocacy Institute held in Washington.

In East Longmeadow, Mr. Fonseca has been elected as both Vice-Chair and Chairman of the School Committee. Mr. Fonseca also represents East Longmeadow on the Lower Pioneer Valley Educational Collaborative, serving on the Board for the past eleven years. He is currently serving his fourth term as Chairman of its Board of Directors. In this role he works closely with the Executive Director to ensure this organization goals and mission are being met.

Mr. Fonseca has also been deeply involved in the town of East Longmeadow. He has served on several boards and commissions including, most recently the Charter Commission. He has also served on the Open Space Committee and the Community Preservation Committee.

Mr. Fonseca is a graduate of Westfield State College. He is a twenty-year resident of East Longmeadow. He has been married to his wife Darlene for nineteen years and his daughter Jennifer is currently a freshman at Framingham State College, majoring in Elementary Education.

Possibly no longer current chair - replaced by Wendy Rua.

Contact Us